Boxing’s Last 13 Undisputed Heavyweight Champions Since 1962

Heavyweight great Lennox Lewis remains the last undisputed heavyweight champion of the world following his sensational victory over Evander Holyfield in 1999.

The British fighter took two bites of the cherry to sweep all the heavyweight titles after a ‘robbery’ in New York, which saw him controversially draw with Holyfield.

But he won a decisive victory over ‘The Real Deal’ in Las Vegas to retain the WBC and lineal heavyweight titles while picking up the WBA, IBF, and vacant WBO belts.

Before Lewis’ dominance, Evander Holyfield and Riddick Bowe conquered the blue-ribbon division. Holyfield stopped ‘Buster’ Douglas to become the undisputed champion, before losing his throne to Bowe who scored a points win.

Of course, Douglas became heavyweight king after causing the biggest shock in boxing history. He knocked out Mike Tyson in Japan. ‘Iron’ Mike suffered his first professional defeat that night in the Tokyo Dome, but he had reeled off 37 consecutive victories including his big win over Tyrell Biggs to become WBA, IBF and WBC heavyweight champion.

Leon Spinks held the undisputed crown after beating Muhammad Ali who was the king of the division on three separate reigns.

Ali, as Cassius Clay, first unified all the belts in 1964 after defeating Sonny Liston for the WBC and WBA titles. Then again in 1967 after beating Ernie Terrell and for a third time after taking care of George Foreman in The Rumble in the Jungle.

Boxing’s undisputed heavyweight champions since 1962:

Sonny Liston (WBA, The Ring, Lineal) – September 25, 1962 – July 22, 1963

Sonny Liston (WBA, WBC, The Ring, Lineal) – July 22, 1963 – February 25, 1964

Muhammad Ali as Cassius Clay (WBA, WBC, The Ring, Lineal) – February 25, 1964 – September 19, 1964

Muhammad Ali (WBA, WBC, The Ring, Lineal) – February 6, 1967 – April 28, 1967

Joe Frazier (WBA, WBC, The Ring, Lineal) – February 16, 1970 – January 22, 1973

George Foreman (WBA, WBC, The Ring, Lineal) – January 22, 1973 – October 30, 1974

Muhammad Ali (WBA, WBC, The Ring, Lineal) – October 30, 1974 – February 15, 1978

Leon Spinks (WBA, WBC, The Ring, Lineal) – February 15, 1978 – March 18, 1978

Mike Tyson (WBA, WBC, IBF) – August 1, 1987 – February 11, 1990

‘Buster’ Douglas (WBC, WBA, IBF, The Ring, Lineal) – February 11, 1990 – October 25, 1990

Evander Holyfield (WBC, WBA, IBF, Lineal) – October 25, 1990 – November 13, 1992

Riddick Bowe (WBC, WBA, IBF, Lineal) – November 13, 1992 – December 14, 1992

Lennox Lewis (WBC, WBA, IBF, Lineal) – November 13, 1999 – April 29, 2000

It’s been over 20 years since the heavyweight division had an undisputed champion, but a heavyweight king could be crowned this year with talks reportedly underway between Anthony Joshua and Tyson Fury.


Joshua, who holds the WBA, IBF and WBO titles, is hoping to land a blockbuster fight with Fury, who’s the proud owner of the WBC, The Ring and Lineal titles.

The Manchester-born fighter stopped Wilder in the seventh round of their highly-anticipated rematch and while they’re set to meet for the third time, an undisputed clash against the Olympic gold medalist has been mooted.

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin